Disguising thoughts with influences.

Tumblr_lpaye3fsp11qcl7wao1_500_large

The French philosopher Voltaire wrote,

“There are some that only employ words for the purpose of disguising their thoughts.”

This is a lesson that I learnt the hard way. I didn’t realize that when an author writes their  personal beliefs and views have an  influence on their writing. I also in this process realized that my choice of using quotes and sources was also selected( the one best suited to what I wanted to say) and the fact that I wanted to show my perspective on something but rather instead of a 16 year old saying something that would most likely not be even considered or looked at  I use,  nani gigantum humeris insidente‘ which is Latin and in English is a metaphor that means Dwarfs ‘standing on the shoulders of giants ‘ with the  current  interpretation meaning “One who develops future intellectual pursuits by understanding and building on the research and works created by notable thinkers of the past”.On the other hand,  I came across this well I was dong a Modern History assignment and I was browsing through the web and came across an expression by Isaac Newton whereby, he pronounced that  the reason that he had come so far was that he was,standing on the shoulders of giants and his exact words were ‘If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants‘. So from that day on I sat on the shoulders of giants, the academics and the experts in the area that are credible unlike a 16 year old girl just stating unsupported arguments.

that’s why you see people as Voltaire said that people, ” Employ words for the purpose of disguising their thoughts.” I think that I am even guilty of this in this post  because I am using Voltaire words to get my voice heard were in truth I could  have coined my own version of it. I  confess that I am guilty of what Voltaire is talking about but, I guess so is everyone.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

